Art Faire 2014


6 Art Faire winners in a row--Michael Morrison, Susan Brabeau, Malcolm MacGregor, Katie Probst, Kyle Wilson, Janie Prete
Art Faire winners Michael Morrison, Susan Brabeau, Malcolm MacGregor, Katie Probst, Kyle Wilson, Janie Prete
Winners of Clayton’s 16th annual Art Faire competition were revealed Thursday, Sept. 4, at a meet-the-artists reception at the Clayton Center.

They are:

* Susan Brabeau of Wendell, “Hydrangeas,” oil on board, winner of the $750 Margaret Ritchie Award of Excellence for Fine Art

* Kyle Wilson of Clayton, “No Hope,” photography, winner of the $750 Award of Excellence for Photography

* Malcolm MacGregor of Garner, “Mystic Morning,” photography, Judges’ Choice Award, $100

* Michael T. Morrison of Clayton, “Summertime in Senigallia,” photography, Judges’ Choice Award, $100

* Janie Prete of Clayton, “Leaving Home,” mixed media, Judges’ Choice Award, $100

* Katie Probst of Clayton, “Bridge Over Neuse River,” Sunnie Chance People’s Choice Award, $100, voted on by attendees at reception

CLICK HERE to see the 2014 Art Faire program (PDF, 2 pages), which shows everyone who entered.

Awards were presented by Clayton Mayor Jody McLeod.

Man and woman artist
Steve Chance and Katie Probst
The Sunnie Chance People’s Choice Award was presented by Steve Chance, widower of Sunnie, who was an artist and long-time member of both Clayton Visual Arts and the Woman’s Club of Clayton. She died in 2012.

The late Margaret Ritchie was an artist and founder of Clayton Visual Arts. She led the group during 1999-2007. She was editor of the Clayton News-Star from 1997 to 2007 and died in 2009.

The reception was presented by the Woman’s Club of Clayton.

A total of $1,900 was presented in two categories — fine arts and photography.

Judges Susan Fecho of Wilson, head of the Department of Art & Design at Barton College, and Richard Cicone of Cary, a professional photographer and experienced judge, chose the winners Sept. 3. Fecho judged fine art and Cicone photography.

The top two entries were the $750 Awards of Excellence. Three Judge’s Choice ribbons were presented to the best of the rest.

Audience members participated in choosing the winner of the sixth award, the Sunnie Chance People’s Choice Award. Ballots were handed out at the door, and spectators were asked to vote for the piece of art they liked best.

Purchase Awards debut

5 Purchase Award recipients Don Stephenson, Julie Showman, Jo Lee Tucker, Janie Prete, Amy Beshgetoorian
Purchase Award recipients Don Stephenson, Julie Showman, Jo Lee Tucker, Janie Prete, Amy Beshgetoorian; not shown: Heidi Lee Peach
2014 marked the inauguration of “Purchase Awards” at Art Faire.

A committee of Clayton Visual Arts members — President Amy Beshgetoorian, Carolyn Howard, Laura Padilla Bailey, and Medrith Nuttle — worked out details of inviting members of the Clayton business community to have first choice at purchasing Art Faire entries.

Five businesses or individuals took the opportunity. They were The Tina Barletta Team, HomeTowne Realty; Hattie Frederick, First Citizens Bank; Kirkwood Builders, The Art of Luxury; Mike Rodriguez, Novo Nordisk; and Suzette Rodriguez, Johnston Health.

Five Clayton artists (the first 5 in the list below) and one from Four Oaks received a Purchase Award:

* Amy Beshgetoorian, “Autumn Tobacco Barn,” purchased by Mike Rodriguez of Novo Nordisk

* Heidi Lee Peach, “City Market,” purchased by Art & Teresa Kirkwood of Kirkwood Builders

* Janie Prete, “Leaving Home,” purchased by Tina Barletta of HomeTowne Realty

* Julie Showman, “Winston,” purchased by Suzette Rodriguez of Johnston Health

* Don Stephenson, “Autumn on Middle Creek,” purchased by Mike Rodriguez of Novo Nordisk

* Jo Lee Tucker of Four Oaks, “Time for Lunch,” purchased by Suzette Rodriguez of Johnston Health

Forty-seven artists entered the competition, 28 from Clayton. There were 28 entries in fine art and 19 in photography. Total entries were limited to 50, due to space considerations at the Clayton Center Gallery.

All artwork will be on exhibit in the Clayton Center until Oct. 1. The Center is open 9-5 Monday-Friday. The exhibit is free.

In 2013, winners were Eric Schreffler of Goldsboro, $750 Margaret Ritchie Award of Excellence for fine art; Jeff Horton of Clayton, $750 Award of Excellence for photography; and Mary Doherty of Raleigh, Carolyn Howard and Janie Prete of Clayton, Judge’s Choice awards of $100 each. Prete was a double winner, as she also received the Sunnie Chance People’s Choice Award of $100. There were 51 entries.

The Art Faire Committee was June Lioret, Kathleen Nobles, Janie Prete, and Don Stephenson. All members of Clayton Visual Arts had a hand in the production, and many members entered artwork.

Clayton Visual Arts, Inc., is a nonprofit, 501 (c) (3) corporation dedicated to “bringing art to Clayton.” It was founded in 1999 and is supported in part by the Town of Clayton Cultural Arts Fund.

2 women look at painting
Two spectators admire Eric Schreffler’s work “Say Say Say”
crowd at art reception
Looking at art is tiring work

3 people conferring
Janie Prete, Mayor Jody McLeod, Amy Beshgetoorian go over details

2 people work on award-ribbon
Tim Johnson and Kathleen Nobles adjust award ribbon

2 women at refreshments table
Barbara Nangle and Margie Hopkins at the refreshments table

2 women artists talk
Artists Edna Sullivan and Julie Showman ponder their votes for “People’s Choice”

2 people talk in middle of crowd
Artist Amy Devereaux (L) talks to Keith Nuttle (R); artists Don and Francine Stephenson and Tim Johnson are in background
3 women make choices at refreshments table
Artist Katie Probst (L) and two friends found the popular refreshments table

woman and painting of hydrangea flowers
Brabeau with her winning “Hydrangeas”

man receives blue ribbon from mayor
Wilson gets ribbon from Mayor McLeod

woman get red ribbon from mayor
Prete receives ribbon from McLeod

Man with red ribbon and photo of beach
Morrison and his “Summertime in Senigallia” (bottom)

4 people at awards presentation
Mayor Jody McLeod (L) & Carolyn Howard, who headed the Purchase Awards effort, present ribbons to Amy Beshgetoorian, Don Stephenson
3 people talking at reception
Photographer Frank Dziepak (C) chats with fellow photographer Jeff Horton and Horton’s wife